
November 1, 2016

Operator Name
Address
City, State, Zip

RE: Body Art Establishment Renewal Application
Establishment Name 
Establishment Address
XXX Township, Portage County

Dear Body Art Establishment Operator:

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 3730.02, no person shall operate a body
art  establishment  without  first  obtaining  the  approval  of  the  Board  of  Health  in  the
jurisdiction in which the business operates. Therefore, enclosed is your 2017 application
to renew the Permit to Operate the body art establishment referenced above.

Please be aware that in accordance with Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 3701-9-02
(E)  and  (F)  the  process  to  renew  the  permit  to  operate  or  maintain  a  body  art
establishment states, in part:

(E) Every person who intends to renew an approval to operate or maintain a
body  art  establishment  shall  apply  to  the  board  of  health  on  or  after
November first  of  each year.  Applications received or postmarked after
December thirty-first shall be assessed a penalty as authorized by section
3709.09 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC).

(F) Approvals  are  not  transferable  and  remain  valid  for  one  year,  ending
December thirty-first. Any change in address or change in ownership shall
require  the  operator  to  apply  for  approval,  with  payment  of  all  fees
established by the board of health.

Please note, OAC 3701-9-02(B) states, 

No person shall construct, install, provide, equip, or extensively alter a body art
establishment until all plans and specifications for the facility layout, equipment
and operation have been submitted to and accepted, in writing, by the board of
health of the city or general health district in which the business is located. 



November 1, 2016
Body Art Establishment 
Permit to Operate Renewal Application
Page 2

If this facility is being altered, please submit plans and specifications as detailed on the
application  form  as  soon  as  possible  to  minimize  any  delays  in  processing  the
application.    

If applicable, the plan review fee is $75.00.  The annual permit to operate fee for 2017 is
$125.00.  In accordance with OAC 3701-9-02(E), a late fee will be assessed if the
application and payment are not received or postmarked by December 31, 2016.  

Please complete the application, sign, date and return or postmark with the required fee
on or before December 31, 2016.  Please submit a current copy of the infection and
control plan as detailed in OAC 3701-9-02(B)(8) as part of the application.  Please make
all checks payable to: Portage County Health District.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Jack Madved at (330) 296-
9919 ext. 116 between 8 – 9:30 AM, Monday through Friday.

Respectfully,

Mary Helen Smith, MPH, RS
Director of Environmental Health

enclosures

cc: Body Art Establishment Permit to Operate File(s)
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