Relieve of Estate from Administration

Requirements

This proceeding may only be used if the following apply:

1. There is a surviving spouse entitled to the entire estate (under the Will, or by law if no Will); and the assets do not exceed \$100,000.00

OR

2. There is no surviving spouse and the assets do not exceed \$35,000.00

AND

3. The Applicant for Commissioner must be resident of the State of Ohio, See R.C. §2109.01 and R.C. §2109.21.

For more detail on these requirements, see R.C. §2113.03.

		•		
Init	<u>ial F</u>	<u>iling</u>		
	Apr	pplication to Relieve Estate from Administration (Form 5.0) Applicant <u>must</u> be an Ohio Resident		
	Sur o	viving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0) If there is Surviving Spouse, make sure a box at the bottom of the form is marked		
	Ass o	sets and Liabilities of Estate to be Relieved from Administration (Form 5.1) If there are no cash assets listed to pay the listed debts, there must be evidence provided that all debts are secured to be paid.		
	Ent o	ry Relieving Estate from Administration (Form 5.6) Be sure to include the make, model, year and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on any type of motor vehicles, including mobile homes. The title bureau cannot accept paperwork without this information.		
	Cop o			
	Pho	Photocopy of the death certificate – with the social security number marked out		
	Wa	Vaiver of Notice of Application to Relieve Estate from Administration (Form 5.2) <i>If applicable</i> OR		
	Not o	tice of Application to Relieve Estate from Administration (Form 5.3) <i>If applicable</i> The Court will serve the notice upon all parties who do not waive The Application will be set for a paper hearing to allow service to be perfected prior to approval.		
lf ti	here	is a Will, you must file:		
		Application to Probate Will (Form 2.0)		
		The original Last and Will and Testament of decedent		
		Entry Admitting Will to Probate (Form 2.3)		
		Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will (Form 2.1) <i>If applicable</i> o If people on front and back of form 1.0 all waive notice, then these can be filed at initial filing.		
		Certificate of Service of Notice of Probate of Will (Form 2.4) <i>If applicable</i> o This can be filed with the initial filing if everyone on the front and back of the form 1.0 waives notice. If they are to be served notice, then you must wait until you have proof of service before filing this.		
If A	lutor	mobiles are being transferred pursuant to the Release of Administration:		
		 Proof of Valuation: You can use (1) a print out showing the value of the automobile (from Kelly Blue Book, NADA, other online appraisal websites, etc.) or (2) a formal appraisal. If you use an appraiser, they must sign the Certification or Form 5.1, Page 2. You must also file an Appointment of Appraiser (Form 3.0). 		
		Application for Transfer of Motor Vehicle (9.0C) o Be sure to include the make, model, year and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on any type of motor vehicles. The title bureau cannot accept paperwork without this information.		

		 If the distribution is not consistent with the Will or laws of intestate succession, then you must prepare and file the Consent to Alternate Distribution of Tangible Personal Property.
		 Application for Transfer of RV, Boat, Trailer Be sure to include the make, model, year and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on any type of motor vehicles, including mobile homes. Note: for boats it will be a "Haul Identification Number (HIN) instead of a VIN. The title bureau cannot accept paperwork without this information. If the distribution is not consistent with the Will or laws of intestate succession, then you must prepare and file the Consent to Alternate Distribution of Tangible Personal Property.
If F	Real	Estate is being transferred pursuant to the Release of Administration:
		 Certificate of Transfer (Form 12.1) If property is located in Greene County, this must have the Auditor's approval stamp on the legal description before being filed in Probate Court.
		 Proof of Valuation: You can use (1) a print out of tax value from the County Auditor's Website or (2) a formal appraisal. If you use an appraiser, they must sign the Certification on Form 5.1, Page 2. You must also file an Appointment of Appraiser (Form 3.0).
		For dates of death prior to January 1, 2013, a form ET 22 is required
Lat	er F	<u>ling:</u>
	Re	ort of Distribution
	0	This is due no later than 90 days from the filing date of the Entry Relieving Estate from Administration. The report of distribution must be consistent with the Entry Relieving Estate from Administration. If asset values

have changed, the Assets and Liabilities must be amended, along with the Entry Relieving Estate from

Administration.