PORTAGE COUNTY SHERIFF’'S OFFICE

CARRY CONCEALED WEAPONS LAW

As your Portage County Sheriff, I have compiled the following information which I
hope will assist you in obtaining your “Concealed Carry License.” Listed below are the
minimum requirements for training which will enable you to apply for your Concealed
License.

Please take the time to read the information below, and if you have any questions, there
is a phone number provided so that someone from my staff may assist you...

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

You must first obtain the eight (8) hours of weapons proficiency training as
required by law. Six (6) hours of class time and two (2) hours of range time.
(Check with local sporting goods stores, gun clubs or colleges).

This course is not offered by the Portage County Sheriff’s Office.

Please make sure that the instructor(s) offering the weapons training course
(whether on-line or classroom) is a certified instructor through the National Rifle
Association (NRA) or the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy (OPOTA), and
certified to teach firearms training (both range and classroom). Ask and/or look
to see credentials and certification. ALL certificates must include the certified
instructors printed name, signature and ID number.

Upon successful completion of the training and your receipt of a firearm’s
training certificate of training entity, the applicant must obtain a “CCW
APPLICATION FORM” and the “OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW
PAMPHLET” as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. The
application forms and pamphlets are available at the C.C.W. office of the Portage
County Sheriff’s Office, Monday through Friday 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM or on the
Attorney General’s website at www.ag.state.oh.us or the Portage County
Sheriff’s Office website at http://www.co.portage.oh.us/sheriff.htm

CCW applications are processed at the Portage County Sheriff’s Office,
8240 Infirmary Rd., Ravenna, Ohio.

Applicants are encouraged to call ahead and schedule an appointment to have
their application processed. APPLICATIONS MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR
TO A PERSON BEING PROCESSED.

You must have the following items when coming to the Portage County Sheriff’s
Office to process your application for a Carrying Concealed Weapons Permit:
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a. Your completed application form

b. “Original copy” of your firearms training certificate - no photo-copies
will be accepted

c. Current photo identification (i.e. drivers license, state identification)

d. Passport size color photo taken within the last thirty-days. (Affixed to
your application)

6) Forms of Payment: One of the following methods of payment for the NON-
REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE:

a. amoney order, cashier’s check, certified bank check made payable to the
“Portage County Treasurer”. SORRY, WE CANNOT ACCEPT
PERSONAL CHECKS OR BUSINESS CHECKS

b. cash in the amount of $67.00 If you have lived in the state of Ohio for
five (5) years or more

c. cash in the amount of $77.00 if you have lived in the state of Ohio for
less than five (5) years

7) Only one applicant can be processed at a time, and their completed application,
and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Your
fingerprints will be obtained through the WebCheck system and sent
electronically to the bureau of Criminal Investigation & Identification for a
background check.

8) The applicant will provide all the necessary information to conduct the required
background investigation by the Sheriff’s Office. You will then be notified as
outlined, of the next step in the process pending background investigation.

9) Within forty-five days (45) you will either have either received your license the
day of your appointment, or by mail and/or a letter to advise you if your
application has been denied (with the reason for the denial). The appeal process
will also be explained in the certified letter to the applicant if the application is
denied.

10) Renewals — In order for a C.C.W. license to be considered a “Renewal,” the
Original C.C.W. file needs to be through the Portage County Sheriff’s Office.

Renewal Items include:

a. Completed Application
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b. $50.00 (see “Forms of Payment”) if you have been a resident of the state of
Ohio for the last five (5) years

c. $60.00 if you have been a resident of the state of Ohio for less than five (5)
years

d. 2x2 passport size photo taken within the last thirty (30) days
e. Current Driver’s License or State ID

11) Adjoining County — An adjoining county is any county that is adjoined to
Portage County.

a. If your original C.C.W. license is through an adjoining county and you
wish to renew your C.C.W. license through the Portage County
Sheriff’s Office, you will be considered a “NEW” C.C.W. holder for
Portage County and the fee will be $67.00.

PLEASE, DO NOT BRING ANY FIREARMS INTO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE!

As always, it is a pleasure to serve you! If I can be of any further assistance regarding
Concealed Carry licenses, please contact the CCW office at (330) 298-4486.
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