‘@i Carry

Concealed Weapons
CCW License

What you will need to do to apply for a
CCW license:

Complete a 8 hour CCW certified course (6
hours classroom, 2 hours gun range)

— Completed CCW application
(applications available on our web-site or
the Attorney General’s web-site)

— Recent passport photo (you may have
those taken at any Walgreen, Post Office,
CVS, Rite-Aid, and BMV)

— Valid Driver’s License

— Call the C.C.W. office located at the
Portage County Justice Center

— To schedule an appointment call:
(330) 298-4486

CCW applications are processed
between the hours of 9:00 AM - 3:00
PM, Monday through Friday.

The Cost of a CCW
License:

—  $67.00 New Issue, Resident for more
than 5 years

— $77.00 New Issue, Resident for less than
5 years & FBI fee

—  $50.00 Renewal, Resident for more than
5 years

— $60.00 Renewal, Resident for less than 5
years

— EXACT CASH OR MONEY
ORDER ONLY

Gun Free Zones Fact:

“No gun ban around the world has produced
a drop in murder rates. Gun-free zones are a
magnet for crime of all kinds. In addition,
even the strictest gun regulations or bans
haven't stopped multiple victim public
shootings from occurring.”

John R. Lott, Jr. is a FoxNews.com contributor. An
economist and former chief economist at the United
States.

Insight from a Licensed CCW
Adult:

“As Responsible adults, when we get into a car to
drive we buckle up to protect ourselves from a
potential car accident. Likewise, as responsible,
educated adults — we carry a gun to protect
ourselves from potential criminal attacks.”

Portage County Ohio
Sheriff’s Office

Honest Citizens Carry
Concealed Weapons
“Because Bad Things
Can Happen to Good People
— Anytime, Anywhere.”



http://johnrlott.blogspot.com/2010/09/dcs-murder-and-violent-crime-rates-keep.html
http://johnrlott.blogspot.com/
http://www.foxnews.com/archive/author/john-lott/index.html

A Note from the Sheriff

As your Portage County Sheriff, | have compiled
the following information, which | hope will assist
you in obtaining your "Concealed Carry License.”
Listed below are the minimum requirements for
training which will enable you to apply for your
Concealed License.

Please take the time to read the information
below, and if you have any questions, there is a
phone number provided so that someone from my
staff may assist you...

1). You must first obtain the eight (8) hours of
weapons proficiency training as required by law.
(Check with local sporting goods stores, gun
clubs or colleges).

This course is not offered by the Portage
County Sheriff's Office.

2). Please make sure that the instructor(s)
offering the weapons training have a certificate
from the National Rifle Association (NRA) or the
Ohio Police Officer Training Academy (OPOTA)
and are certified as instructors to teach firearms
training. Ask to see their credentials and
certification.

3). Upon successful completion of the training
and your receipt of a firearm's training
certificate of training entity, the applicant must
obtain a “*CCW APPLICATION FORM" and the
"“OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW
PAMPHLET” as prepared by the Ohio Attorney
General’s Office. The application forms and
pamphlets are available at the C.C.W. Office of
the Portage County Sheriff's Office, Monday

through Friday 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM or on the
Attorney General’s website at
www.ag.state.oh.us or the Portage County
Sheriff's Office website at
http://www.co.portage.oh.us/sheriff.htm

4). CCW applications are processed at the
Portage County Sheriff's Office:

Applicants are
encouraged to call ahead and schedule an
appointment to have their application
processed (We are not currently accepting
walk-in's.) APPLICATIONS MUST BE
COMPLETED PRIOR TO A PERSON BEING
PROCESSED.

5). Only one applicant can be processed at a
time, and their completed application, and
method of payment will be reviewed for
completeness and accuracy. Your fingerprints
will be obtained through the WebCheck system
and sent electronically to the Bureau of Criminal
Investigation & Identification for a background
check.

6). The applicant will provide all the necessary
information to  conduct the required
background investigation by the Sheriff's
Office. You will then be notified as outlined, of
the next step in the process.

7). Within forty-five days (45), you will either

have received your license in the mail, or a letter
to advise you if your application has been
denied and the reason for the denial.  The
appeal process will also be explained in the
certified letter to the applicant if the application
is denied.

PLEASE, DO NOT BRING ANY FIREARMS
INTO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE!

As always, it is a pleasure to serve you and if  can
be of any further assistance regarding Concealed
Carry licenses, please contact the CCW office at

(330) 298-4486.
7
Laws change!

If you would like more information on Ohio laws
and regulations for Concealed Carry Weapons,
please refer to the Ohio Attorney General’s web
site to download the latest PDF Concealed Carry
Laws Manual by Mike DeWine:

www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.qov.

riminals cannot know who is armed
and who is not. This deters criminals,
and contributes to the decreasing
trends in violent crimes nation-wide.

~ Tim Schmidt, founder and CEO of the United States
Concealed Carry Association and its sister organization the
Home Defense Association of America (HDAA).



http://www.ag.state.oh.us/
http://www.co.portage.oh.us/sheriff.htm
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/

