
 Child Passenger Restraint Laws 

Ohio Revised Code 

 

Age Newborn to 4 Years & 40 lbs. 

 Primary Enforcement – Child Restraint Violation 

* Children must be in properly used child restraints 

4511.81 – If a child is both under 4 and under 

40lbs 

� A 1 – If child is younger than 4 

� A 2 – If child weighs less than 40 lbs. 

 

4511.81 – If a child is in a day care or 

preschool vehicle 

� B 1 – for child younger than 4 

� B 2 – for child weighing less than 40 

lbs. 

 

Age 4 up to 8 and less than 4’9”tall 
Secondary Enforcement – Booster Seat Violation 

 

4511.81 (C) – Child age 4 up to 8 and less than 

4’9”tall 

* Children must be properly secured in accordance 

with the manufacturers’ instructions in booster 

seats or child restraints that meet federal motor 

vehicle safety standards. 

Age 8 up to age 15 

 

Secondary Enforcement – Seat Belt Violation 

 

4511.81(D) – Child age 8 up to age 15 

      * Regardless of front or back seat occupancy 

 

All of the above section have the following 

exeptions: 

� Taxicabs 

� Public Safety Vehicles 

� Vehicles not equipped with seat belts 

at the time of manufacture 

� Chiropractor or physician affidavit of 

exemption 

� Life threatening emergencies 

 

All of the above sections require the driver to 

be ticketed, not the child. 

 

All of the above sections are MM on a first 

offense. 

 

If more than one child is not restrained at the 

time of stop, only one citation can be issued.  

 

Portage Muni Court 
Waiver on above violations $140.00 

 

 

Adult Occupant Restraint Laws 
 

4513.263 – Seat Belt Violation/Secondary 

Enforcement – MM 

� (B) (1) Driver not wearing  

� (B) (2) Passenger not wearing, but 

driver gets ticket 

� (B) (3) Passenger not wearing and 

gets ticket 

� (B) (4) All seatbelts in taxicabs must 

work 

(B) No person shall do any of the following:  

(1) Operate an automobile on any street or 

highway unless that person is wearing all of the 

available elements of a properly adjusted 

occupant restraining device. 

* All of the above sections are cited as UM. 

(1) Whoever violates division (B)(1) of this 

section shall be fined thirty dollars.  

(2) Whoever violates division (B)(3) of this 

section shall be fined twenty dollars. 

Note* Fine amounts do not include court costs. 

Portage Muni Court 
Waiver on above violations $88.00 

 

Portage County Ohio 

Sheriff’s Office 
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Child Endangering and OVI 

Enforcement 
 

2919.22 (C) (1) – No person shall operate a 

vehicle, streetcar, or trackless trolley within 

this state in violation of division (A) of section 

4511.19 of the Revised Code when one or more 

children under eighteen years of age are in the 

vehicle, streetcar, or trackless trolley.   

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a 

person may be convicted at the same trial or 

proceeding of a violation of this division and a 

violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of 

the Revised Code that constitutes the basis of 

the charge of the violation of this division.  For 

purposes of sections 4511 to 4511.19 of the 

Revised Code that constitutes the basis of the 

charge of the violation of this division.  For 

purposes of the sections of 4511.191 to 

4511.197 of the Revised Code and all related 

provisions of law, a person arrested for a 

violation of this division shall be considered to 

be under arrest for operating a vehicle while 

under the influence of alcohol, a drug of abuse, 

or a combination of them or for operating a 

vehicle with a prohibited concentration of 

alcohol, a controlled substance, or a 

metabolite of a controlled substance in the 

whole blood, blood serum or plasma, breath, 

or urine. 

 

(2) As used in division (C) (1) of th is section: 

� (a) “Controlled substance” has the 

same meaning as in section 3719.01 of 

the Revised Code. 

� (b) “Vehicle,” “streetcar,” and 

“trackless trolley” have the same 

meanings as in section 4511.01 of the 

Revised Code. 

 

If more than one child is present in the vehicle 

at the time of the stop, only one charge can be 

issued.  

 

 

 

 

First Offense – M – 1, With Prior Conviction –  

F – 5 

� If offense results in serious physical 

harm (even if first offense) – F-5 

� If offense results in serious physical 

harm and offender has prior 

conviction – F-4 

 

Court may also impose a Class 7 license 

suspension (up to one year)  

 

� Offender may not be granted driving 

privileges if, within the preceding six 

years, the offender has been convicted 

of three or more violations of any of 

the following: (a) a prior conviction of 

2919.22 (C) or (b) any OVI equivalent 

offense 

 

Court may also impose not more than 200 

hours of community service at the time of 

sentencing. 

 

Also be mindful of the general child 

endangering section, R.C. 2919.00(A).  The OVI 

section applies to anyone operating the car 

with children in it whether you are related or 

not.  Section (A) of R.C. 2929.22 applies to the 

“…parent, guardian, custodian, person having 

custody or control, or person in loco parentis 

of a child under age eighteen…”  So, if the 

operator is the parent or in the capacity of one 

of the other people listed, they could be 

charged under R.C. 2919.22(A) and could be 

charged per child. 

 

 

 

 

 

Click It or Ticket! 

According to 

the U.S. 

Department of 

Transportation’s 

National 

Highway Traffic 

Safety 

Administration 

(NHTSA), 52 

percent of the 

21,253 passenger vehicle occupants killed 

in 2011 were not wearing their safety belts at 

the time of the crash.  In 2012, of the fatal 

crashes where safety belt information was 

known, 61 percent of the people killed on Ohio’s 

roadways were not wearing a safety restraint. 

“Too many drivers and passengers are not 

wearing their safety belts, and it all too often 

ends in tragedy,” said Ohio Department of Public 

Safety Director Thomas P. Charles.  “Our goal is 

to save more lives; therefore, our law 

enforcement partners will be out enforcing safety 

belt laws around the clock.” 

“It’s simple - safety belts save lives and reduce 

injury in crashes,” said Colonel John Born, 

superintendent of the Ohio State Highway 

Patrol. “It is the easiest thing you can do to 

protect yourself, your family and your friends.” 

In 2011, safety belts saved an estimated 11,949 

lives nationwide according to NHTSA. 

 


