Notice of Regular Meeting - March 4, 2021

The Portage County Administrative Building is open to the public.  You will be required to wear a mask and have your temperature taken.  There is a drop box in the parking lot of the Portage County Administration Building for you to place items for the Board of Elections.  There are voter registration and absentee ballot applications in front of the drop box.  Thank you for your cooperation in our effort to keep our staff healthy.

May 4, 2021 Primary/Special Election

Voter Registration Deadline - April 5, 2021

The voter registration deadline applies to people who are not currently registered to vote in Portage County and people who have moved and/or changed their names and not updated that information with our office.  Citizens who live in Portage County and will be 18 years of age prior to the November 2, 2021 General Election should register to vote prior to April 5, 2021.  People who are currently 17 and will be 18 years of age prior to the November 2, 2021 General Election may vote on candidates only in the May 4, 2021.  That means that registered 17 year olds may vote on candidates only in Streetsboro City and Tallmadge City.  Online voter registration can be found at and voter registration forms that can be completed and mailed or dropped off at our office can be found here.  

Absentee Voting

We are once again encouraging voters to vote early absentee.  You can vote early absentee by having a ballot mailed to you or by coming to our office to vote early.

Vote by Mail - Submit your application today!

If you would like to vote absentee by mail, please complete an application and return it to our office (by mail or in the drop box).  Applications are also available in the front of our dropbox.  We cannot send you a ballot in the mail without a written application.  The first day that we can mail out absentee ballots is April 6, 2021.  The last day to request an absentee ballot through the mail in technically May 2, 2021 by noon.  However, if you wait until that date, the likelihood of receiving your ballot in time is remote.  To ensure enough time for mail delivery, we suggest getting your request to us by April 27, 2021.  All absentee by mail ballots must be postmarked by Monday, May 3, 2021 or received at the Board of Elections Office by Tuesday, May 4, 2021 prior to 7:30 p.m.

Vote Absentee in Person

The Board of Elections will be open beginning on April 6, 2021.  See the schedule of days below:

Voter Registration DeadlineApril 5, 2021, 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Absentee in Person

449 S. Meridian St., Ravenna, OH

April 6, 2021 - April 9, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
 April 12, 2021 - April 16, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
 April 19, 2021 - April 23, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
 April 26, 2021 - April 30, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
 Saturday, May 1, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
 Sunday, May 2, 2021 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
 Monday, May 3, 2021 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Election Day

Tuesday, May 4, 2021 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at your polling location

Find your polling location here.


46-Day Notice - May 4, 2021




Staff Contacts

Name Title
Faith Lyon Director
Theresa Nielsen Deputy Director

Board of Elections Members

Name Title
Denise L. Smith Chair
Patricia Nelson Member
Doria Daniels Member
Elayne J. Cross Member